Glitch in the system

So….cleaning was going well until….

Until a woman who brings her dog out to the farm to run around showed up and Fozzy came running over, I petted him, he ran away, he ran back, I petted him, felt something on my right foot and that’s when it started going horribly wrong. 😛

It looked like a dark slug or maple tree seed at first. My brain was like, “What is this?” Then I saw my pruners, that had been in my pants’s pocket, on the ground next to my foot. Then I register that the “dark slug” was in fact a gash in my foot and the dark was blood.

So I started towards the house on my left foot and right heel yelling, “Carol! I need a Band-aid!” Then 1/2 way to the house the blood was running down my foot, so I took off my sandal and yelled, “Carol! I need a… CAROL! I NEED A BAND-AID OR SOMETHING!” Got to the steps, Mary was there with all her first-aid items from the house and stood on my left foot whilst my right foot was up on the top of the stairs. Carol, aka Nurse Ratchett, decides we should put honey on it before wrapping it up. I’m like, “Do you think I should go to the hospital? Do you think I need stitches? Shit!”

After first-aid was administered, I sat on the grass with my foot elevated on the old well that is capped and we all had a little chat. I felt alright after about 20 mins so went back to cutting the stems off the garlic so I could bring them home to clean.

Last night I sat and cleaned a bunch of garlic until it got too dark and cold.

This morning I was all ready to go to work, when, after 1/2 hour of being on my foot I was like, hmmm, maybe not. I didn’t think I could make it to this particular teacher’s classroom and back at least 4 times. I was also worried b/c I know my tetanus shots are not up to date. Like, as in I cannot remember the last time I had one. Had to give up my day of work and make a walk-in (phone) app’t. Earliest I could get in was 2:30. The doctor decided I needed to see someone (obviously), so sent me to the ER as they weren’t busy.

I just got home from the ER where the doctor was on the fence about stitches but decided against it b/c there was a little bit of swelling. So taped it together and gave me a course of antibiotics. The nurse gave me a tetanus shot and I left.

I’d post a photo from last night of the gash, but I’m sure some of you wouldn’t appreciate that, so here’s what it looks like presently (photo bombed by Cleo in the first one):

Needless to say, this puts an extra little hurdle in the way. I was totally planning on having everything done by the weekend. Now I’m not so sure that will happen. I’ve got quite the limp going on but hopefully the healing will be fast. I’ll keep you in the loop.

It will be touch-and-go for everyone to get their full order this year. I have, however, found 8″ drip tape in the States (none in Manitoba) that might work, if they have it in stock.

For now though, I think I need to go back to bed for a bit.

Ciao!

PS: What is the lesson you ask? Don’t wear sandals when working in the garden. Will I learn it THIS time? Likely not.

2 Comments

Filed under Garlic

2 responses to “Glitch in the system

  1. bettyjeancheckley

    Essh, you didn’t need that mishap! Hope it’s healing nicely, and that you’re back to work.

    On Wed, Sep 15, 2021 at 5:11 PM Good Food from Prairie Roots wrote:

    > SB posted: ” So….cleaning was going well until…. Until a woman who > brings her dog out to the farm to run around showed up and Fozzy came > running over, I petted him, he ran away, he ran back, I petted him, felt > something on my right foot and that’s when it star” >

    • SB

      I did indeed go to work today. Of course I had outdoor duty this afternoon in the far corner of OVS. LOL I looked ultra fashionable in my little grey sock with a plastic bag over it on my right foot, sandal on my left. All class, all the time! 😛

Leave a comment