A disappointing harvest

to say the least.

The sun has only shone for a few hours in the past week and it really showed today. The come-and-cut-again lettuce hardly grew this week. I gave up on the one patch altogether and only got 5 lb in total. That sucks.

Carrots…about 1/2 of last week. Spuds, same thing. They will not be happy at the farmers’ market, but I am doing my best under terribly trying circumstances.

It just does not help one’s mood at all, all this grey sky and no growth. I’m wondering what this is all about…do I really want to continue doing this?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A disappointing harvest

  1. Hadass Eviatar

    As someone who loves the stuff you bring to market, yes, please go on doing this! It may not have been much last Friday, but what you did bring was so good, and we enjoyed it so much!

    Hang in there … things will get better.

    (Your devoted public educator ;-))

  2. organicsheri

    Hello devoted public educator!

    Thanks for all the thoughts you expressed at the market. I agree with everything you said, and more! I just don’t have the time to say them when I’m setting up. It’s really comforting to know that there are folks out there who understand.

    I am realizing all the obstacles small scale food producers have to plow through and am coming to the realization that this is no fun by myself. I long for a community of people around me, to work with me, support me and create things together for the benefit of everyone. That includes people like you.

    Thanks again!

Leave a comment